Sport

How does one become a long hurdle racer? Exactly, as a high jumper and football player. At least that’s how it was for me. In 2009, I participated in the Thurgau Middle School Championships and cleared a height of 2.01 metres in the high jump without much serious training. This was not a bad result and good enough to be approached by Werner Dietrich, the coach who had already discovered Werner Günthor – the threefold shot-put world champion. And so I came rather by chance from football to athletics. I quickly realised that combining an individual sport with my medical school was easier than with a team sport, because you are less dependent on the schedules of team mates.

I found my favourite discipline after the first races of over 200 m, 400 m and 110 m hurdles. And naturally I also started in high jumping. But already in the second competition, I decided to participate in the 400 m hurdles. Already in my second race with a time of 52.52 seconds, I barely missed qualifying for the U-23 limit. Though at the next race of the Swiss National Championships of 2009 in the Stadion Letzigrund, I became the Swiss national champion runner-up. As the fastest Swiss U-23 runner in the 400 m sprint, I was eligible to participate and represent Switzerland for the first time, just one week later, at the International U-23 competition held in Berlin’s Olympic Stadium.

And it has rapidly developed further: After five years, four Swiss Athletics Championship titles (in 2011, 2012, 2013 and 2014), and participation at the Summer Olympics in London, I celebrated as the 2014 European Champion in my own country. The highlight in my young career, thus far. 2015 was the fifth Swiss Athletics Champion title and the ninth rank at the Wold Championships in Beijing – barely missed the final.

New challenge in 2016: I was the hunted at the European Championships in Amsterdam, i had to defend my European Championship title. I was happy to celebrate the bronze medal, which confirmed my performance. In 2017 we will be concetrating on the World Championships in London. I convinced with strong races during the season ahead of London but i also experienced othe times. Not at all, i reached the Wold Champtionships final, 8th place. The highlight of the Switzerland season and at the same time my last race in 2017: Diamond League Weltklasse Zürich. Where i parted my personal best time of 48.45.

Sport

Wie wird man zum Lang­hürd­ler? Rich­tig, als hoch­sprin­gen­der Fuss­bal­ler. So war es je­den­falls bei mir. 2009 nahm ich an der Thur­gau­er Mit­tel­schul­meis­ter­schaft teil und über­sprang im Hoch­sprung ohne rich­ti­ges Trai­ning 2,01 Me­ter. Was nicht schlecht ist. Gut ge­nug je­den­falls, um von Wer­ner Diet­rich an­ge­spro­chen zu wer­den. Von je­nem Mann also, der schon Wer­ner Günt­hör ent­deckt hat­te, den 3-fa­chen Welt­meis­ter im Ku­gel­stos­sen. So kam ich also eher zu­fäl­lig vom Fuss­ball zur Leicht­ath­le­tik, er­kann­te aber schon bald, dass sich eine Ein­zel­sport­art bes­ser mit dem Me­di­zin­stu­di­um kom­bi­nie­ren lässt, weil man we­ni­ger ab­hän­gig ist von Sport­kol­le­gen.

Zu mei­ner Lieb­lings­dis­zi­plin fand ich nach ers­ten Ren­nen über 200m, 400m, und 110m Hür­den. Und star­te­te na­tür­lich auch im Hoch­sprung. Doch be­reits im zwei­ten Wett­kampf wag­te ich mich auch an die 400 m Hür­den. Be­reits in mei­nem zwei­ten Ren­nen ver­fehl­te ich in Bern in 52.52 Se­kun­den die U-23 EM Li­mi­te nur knapp. Beim nächs­ten Ren­nen, den Schwei­zer Meis­ter­schaf­ten 2009 im Zür­cher Let­zi­grund, wur­de ich Vize-Schwei­zer­meis­ter. Als schnells­ter U-23 Sprin­ter der Schweiz über die 400m flach durf­te ich eine Wo­che spä­ter am U-23 Län­der­kampf im Ber­li­ner Olym­pia­sta­di­on zum ers­ten Mal für die Schweiz star­ten.

Und es ging ra­sant wei­ter: Fünf Jah­re, vier Schwei­zer Meis­ter­ti­tel (2011, 2012, 2013 und 2014) und eine Teil­nah­me an den Olym­pi­schen Som­mer­spie­len in Lon­don spä­ter, fei­er­te ich 2014 den Eu­ro­pa­meis­ter­ti­tel im ei­ge­nen Land. Der bis­he­ri­ge Hö­he­punkt mei­ner noch jun­gen Kar­rie­re. 2015 kam der 5. Schweizermeister-Titel dazu und an der WM in Peking Rang neun – um einen Platz am Final vorbei.

Neue Herausforderung im 2016: An den Europameisterschaften in Amsterdam war ich der Gejagte, ich hatte meinen EM-Titel zu verteidigen. Glücklich durfte ich die Bronzemedaille feiern, welche meine Leistung bestätigte. Im Jahr 2017 konzentrieren wir uns voll und ganz auf die Weltmeisterschaften in London. Ich überzeugt während der Saison vor London mit starken Rennen, wurde aber auch eines anderen belehrt. Nicht destotrotz erreichte ich an der WM den Final mit dem 8. Schlussrang. Saisonhöhepunkt in der Schweiz und zugleich mein letztes Rennen im 2017: Weltklasse Zürich, wo ich auf dem Podest meine Persönliche Bestzeit von 48.45 egalisierte.